I think it’s been made pretty clear that most people don’t like iTunes. But what if you still need to transfer things from your computer to your iOS device? Syncios is a handy iTunes alternative for Windows. It’s completely free and but is just one downside. Unfortunately most of the software tools like this require that iTunes still be installed and Syncios is no exception. The good news is once it is installed you won’t ever have to deal with iTunes interface again. So what does Syncios do exactly? This:

Transfer & Backup of:MusicPhotoVideoseBooksManages playlists and apps.Display device informationConvert sounds to ringtoneConvert video formatsUnfortunately this doesn’t handle .avi which is kind of a deal breaker.Convert audio formats

Overall Syncios a decent desktop software application. It is not the best iTunes replacement that I’ve ever seen, but it is still a big step up from iTunes itself. Plus, it’s completely free. The worst thing, my entire photo collection had the dates wiped. I lost all temporal metadata from the birth of my child. Very precious, personal information which as a parent you hold onto. All dates and location info, gone :( …everything is now the same date. Makes me really sad I won’t have this to share with my daughter when she gets older. I wouldn’t rely on the stability of this application until it has gone through more testing. For most people, the mobile is a very personal extension of themselves so you should think very hard about just who you are placing your trust in when allowing them to restore your world. At least with iOS, when you backed up with iTunes, I knew absolutely that I was getting a really tight backup and the integrity would be maintained. Just to clarify, I wasn’t doing anything unusual… a simple backup of the s6 prior to phone being replaced. I don’t run anything strange or taxing that alters the phone setup in anyway. My phone is default with loads of photos, default email app, default msg app, WhatsApp, and then a bunch of utility apps. When the backup was running, everything was normal, got no errors and it completed with everything looking fine. Once I got my replacement phone (exact same model), loaded backup and then got the bad news. Major fragmentation throughout my data :( Comment Name * Email *

Δ  Save my name and email and send me emails as new comments are made to this post.

Syncios Handles File Transfers Between your PC and iOS device - 51Syncios Handles File Transfers Between your PC and iOS device - 67Syncios Handles File Transfers Between your PC and iOS device - 73